New World Monkeys

The scientific name for New World Monkeys (NWM) is Platyrrhini which means “flat nosed” (their nostrils actually face sideways). NWM’s are generally small to medium sized primates, some species have a phrehensile tail from which they can suspend themselves. Unlike their name (NWM) suggests, these primates are genetically older than Old World Monkeys. Today, there are at least 53 species commonly divided into two families–Cebidae and Callitricidae.
– Marmosets
– Taramins
– Howler Monkeys
– Spider Monkeys
– Woollys
– Titi Monkey
– Capuchins
– Squirrel Monkeys
– Owl Monkeys
– Sakis
– Uakaris